The Trader

Image

The Ainsworth empire (Four Birds, Milk Bar) continues to grow with news that The Trader (3/30 Winnellie Rd, Winnellie; 6.30am-3pm Mon-Fri, from 7.30am Sat)has opened in Winnellie. Yes, in a former greasy spoon joint in Winnellie. I was as surprised as you but hey, just because you work in Winnellie doesn’t mean you don’t deserve good coffee.

Image

The Trader is exactly the type of cafe I have been hoping would open up in Nightcliff or Rapid Creek (preferably at the end of my street). Think crates, couches, a communal table (which I declared the first in Darwin, til I remembered The Office and Java Spice) and damn good coffee. Not to mention Italian food. Traditional Italian food. Depending on the day you might find Tuscan bread salad, orecchiette Pugliese or meatball sugo and parmesan subs on the menu. There’s take-away salads and cakes-a-go-go. The high-vis crowd can’t believe their luck.

Image

2 responses to “The Trader

Leave a comment